Updated entries

Subscribe to article updates by feed or email.

Google should auto-delete aging user data by default

Update (): Google now enables this by default for new accounts. The default setting varies by service and is set to 18–36 months. You can reduce this to three months or opt-out of data-collection all together. Accounts created before June 2020 still need to manually change their account’s privacy setting and opt-in to have their old data deleted automatically.

Explore new entries or the archives